Baltimore County Public Schools held Second Annual Chess Championship


Twenty-four students and nine teams received trophies as the top competitors in Baltimore County Public Schools' second annual systemwide Chess Championship, held Saturday, April 14, at Cockeysville Middle School.

More than 130 students from 29 schools participated, and the individual winners were:

High school division

  1. (tie) Rex Ledesma, Dulaney
  2. (tie) Steven Zhang, Dulaney
  3. Yicheng He, Loch Raven
  4. Melissa Roll, Owings Mills
  5. Mike Davis, Hereford
  6. Ashton Jones, Dundalk
  7. Elmer Turner, Eastern Tech
  8. Mike Brown, Hereford

Middle school division

  1. Zachary Jablow, Dumbarton
  2. Kieran Kokilepersaud, Stemmers Run
  3. Sai Alur, Cockeysville
  4. Hojin Yoon, Cockeysville
  5. Cameron Gray, Loch Raven
  6. Alex Dernelakis, Loch Raven
  7. Erik Libao, Dumbarton
  8. Nate Huynh, Cockeysville

Elementary school division

  1. Gage Flanary, Essex
  2. Ali Merchant, Hampton
  3. Mac Wooley, Stoneleigh
  4. Maverick Irwin, Cromwell Valley
  5. Sam Burton, Essex
  6. Steven Chai, Sparks
  7. Tyler Thornton, Stoneleigh
  8. Alyssa Sabellano, Timonium

In the high school team competition, Dulaney's team, comprised of Rex Ledesma, Steven Zhang, Roy Martin, Michelle Ko, and Sricharan Gumudavelli, came in first. Taking second place was the Hereford team of Mike Davis, Mike Brown, Peter Consalvi, Elijah Giuliano, and Peter Chin. Dundalk's team placed third. Its members were Ashton Jones, Steve Shaw, Kenneth Medlin, Mike Carvell, and Jose Guillen.

At the middle school level, Cockeysville's team ranked first again as it did last year. Its members were Hojin Yoon, Sai Alur, Nate Huynh, Praneeth Sangani, and Evan Simmons. Dumbarton's team, with members Zachary Jablow, Erik Libao, Julian Salmon, Kyle Sulkowski, and Mason Shock, placed second. In third place was the Stemmers Run with team members Kiran Kokilepersaud, Ryan Lewis, Jeremy Goins, Uma Kokilepersaud, and Donnell Jones.

Essex's team placed first at the elementary school level, with members Gage Flanary, Sam Burton, Michael Egbagiri, Travis Holland, and Nathan Panto. Ranked second was the Stoneleigh team of Mac Wooley, Tyler Thornton, Max Gadsden, Kyle Pascale, and Brian Bell. Coming in third was the Sparks team, comprised of Steven Chai, Jacob McVicker, Bodie Breza, Dean Harman, and Daniel Weiss.

Schools that participated in the tournament were Carney, Cromwell, Essex, Hampton, Orems, Powhatan, Sandy Plains, Sparks, Stoneleigh, and Timonium elementary schools; Catonsville, Cockeysville, Dumbarton, Dundalk, Loch Raven, Hereford, Old Court, Parkville, Sparrows Point, Stemmers Run, and Ridgely middle schools; and Dulaney, Dundalk, Eastern Technical, Hereford, Loch Raven, Milford Mill, Owings Mills, and Woodlawn high schools.

©2018 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.