Release Date: 7/15/2016
Contact: Office of Communications, 410.887.5908

24 BCPS school libraries open this summer

TOWSON, MD — There’s still time to find this summer’s best read!

Twenty-four Baltimore County Public School libraries are holding off-season hours to encourage summer reading. Scheduled for select days through mid-August, the summer hours allow students to check out books, participate in special reading-related activities, and register for the Baltimore County Public Library Summer Reading Club.

While at the libraries, students also may use school computers to browse e-books through Destiny library catalogs and access digital learning resources through BCPS One. To find the digital learning resources, students should sign in to BCPS One and look under the “Digital Content and Instructional Tools" section.

The schools with summer library hours are listed below with contact information for their library media specialists and schedules for their off-season hours.

Bear Creek Elementary School
1601 Melbourne Road, Dundalk 21222
Cara Sheppard, 410.887.7118 or csheppard2@bcps.org
Weekdays through Tuesday, July 19 from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.; Tuesday, July 26 from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Berkshire Elementary School
7431 Poplar Ave., Baltimore 21224
Pat Fiero, 410.887.7141 or pfiero@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 20 from 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Campfield Early Learning Center
6834 Alter St., Gwynn Oak 21207
Amie Schwartz, 410.887.1227 or aschwartz3@bcps.org
Monday, July 18; Friday, July 22; Monday, July 25; and Monday, Aug. 8 from 1 to 2 p.m.

Chadwick Elementary School
1918 Winder Road, Windsor Mill 21244
Lynn Hale, 410.887.6866 or lhale@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 20 and Wednesday, July 27 from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m.

Chesapeake Terrace Elementary School
2112 Lodge Farm Road, Sparrows Point 21219
Amanda Amrhine, 410.887.7557 or aamrhine@bcps.org
Monday, July 18 and Monday, July 25 from 11 a.m. to 12 p.m.; Friday, July 29 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Colgate Elementary School
401 51st St., Baltimore 21224
Charlene Stine, 410.887.7139 or cstine@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 20 from 9 to 11 a.m.

Deer Park Elementary School
9809 Lyons Mill Road, Owings Mills 21117
Keishauna Banks, 410.887.0705 or kbanks@bcps.org
Tuesday, July 19; Thursday, July 21; Tuesday, Aug. 2; and Thursday, Aug. 4 from 1 to 2 p.m.

Elmwood Elementary School
531 Dale Ave., Baltimore 21206
Donna Eaton, 410.887.5289 or deaton@bcps.org
Weekdays through Friday, Aug. 5 from 10 to 11 a.m.

Featherbed Lane Elementary School
6700 Richardson Road, Gwynn Oak 21207
Lisa Washington, 410.887.6867 or lwashington2@bcps.org
Tuesday, July 19 from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Fifth District Elementary School
3725 Mount Carmel Road, Upperco 21155
Jaime Hedrick, 410.887.1512 or jhedrick2@bcps.org
Wednesday, Aug. 3 from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Glenmar Elementary School
9700 Community Drive, Middle River 21220
Jamie McCarron, 410.887.0354 or jmccarron@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 20 and Wednesday, July 27 from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Halethorpe Elementary School
4300 Maple Ave., Halethorpe 21227
Melissa Ronnenburg, 410.887.1445 or mronnenburg@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 27 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Joppa View Elementary School
8727 Honeygo Blvd., Perry Hall 21128
Tressa Norris, 410.887.5069 or tnorris@bcps.org
Friday, July 15 from 9 to 11 a.m.

Kingsville Elementary School
7300 Sunshine Ave., Kingsville 21087
Sandy Boyd, 410.887.2902 or sboyd@bcps.org
Monday, July 25 and Wednesday, Aug. 10 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Logan Elementary School
7601 Dunman Way, Dundalk 21222
Amy Bugarin, 410.887.7052 or abugarin@bcps.org
Weekdays through Friday, July 29 from 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Mars Estates Elementary School
1500 East Homberg Ave., Essex 21221
Lisa Allgeier, 410.887.0461 or lallgeier@bcps.org
Thursday, July 28 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Martin Boulevard Elementary School
210 Riverton Road, Middle River 21220
Karen Pavelka, 410.887.0158 or kpavelka@bcps.org
Thursday, July 21 and Thursday, July 28 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Middleborough Elementary School
313 West Road, Essex 21221
Laura Ferrante, 410.887.0493 or lfish@bcps.org
Thursday, July 21 from 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.; Thursday, July 28 from 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Oliver Beach Elementary School
12912 Cuninghill Cove Road, Middle River 21220
Barbara Cosgrove, 410.887.2876 or bcosgrove@bcps.org
Monday, July 18 and Wednesday, Aug. 10 from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Randallstown Elementary School
9013 Liberty Road, Randallstown 21133
Kimberly Schmitt, 410.887.0746 or kschmitt@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 20 from 9:30 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Reisterstown Elementary School
223 Walgrove Road, Reisterstown 21136
Elyse Singer, 410.887.1133 or esinger@bcps.org
Thursday, July 21 from 9:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Sandalwood Elementary School
900 South Marlyn Ave., Essex 21221
Laura Stemler, 410.887.0174 or lstemler@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 27 from 12 to 3 p.m.

Seneca Elementary School
545 Carrollwood Road, Middle River 21220
Shelle Schnell, 410.887.2882 or mschnell@bcps.org
Wednesday, July 20; Wednesday, July 27; and Tuesday, Aug. 2 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Woodmoor Elementary School
3200 Elba Drive, Gwynn Oak 21207
Leslie McIntyre, 410.887.1318 or lmcintyre2@bcps.org
Thursday, July 28 from 8 to 11 a.m.

For more information about a library’s summer hours, contact the school’s library media specialist. To learn more about summer reading programs, visit http://www.bcps.org/offices/lis/summerread/summerread2016.html.

Visit the BCPS News Center and BCPS News Archive to explore more BCPS news!

©2017 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.