Celebrating Excellence: Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools thanks supporters


More than 100 business leaders, educators, and supporters of Baltimore County Public Schools joined together in a celebration of the work of the Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools; in turn, the Foundation thanked its friends for a year full of successful efforts to promote excellence and academic progress in Baltimore County’s schools.

Led by Foundation Director Debbie Phelps and Foundation President Don Arnold, the group’s breakfast ceremony, called “Celebrating Excellence,” reviewed events of the past year and presented awards and recognitions to scores of schools, corporate supporters, and individuals.

The Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools provides financial resources for programs and initiatives that align and supplement students’ education experience, including scholarships, school grants, and investments in teaching and learning. Among the programs supported by the Foundation this year have been student scholarships, Instructional Initiative Grants to schools, the annual State of the Schools program, and Teacher of the Year.


Among those honored on May 21 at the Padonia Park Club event were several members of the organization’s board of directors who are ending their service as directors: James Sasiadek, Molly Shock, and David Uhlfelder. John Hayden, a former Board of Education member who helped to create the Education Foundation, received the Foundation’s Meritorious Service Award, while Board President Don Arnold received the Leadership Award. The Foundation’s Innovation in Education Award went to BCPS Superintendent Dr. Dallas Dance.

Schools that received grants from the Foundation this year also took home special individualized organization banners to display at each school.

©2018 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.