Three BCPS high schools named STEM Innovation Schools


Chesapeake, Owings Mills, and Pikesville high schools were among 49 schools from across Maryland that were named STEM Innovation Schools during the annual meeting on November 7 of the Maryland Business Roundtable for Education.

The designation means those schools will receive additional resources designed to ensure that more students have at least four opportunities during the school year to interact with and benefit from the expertise and advice of workplace professionals in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) careers. Innovation Schools and their teachers will have access to scores of volunteers from area businesses and industries who will act as teachers and mentors, a wide range of STEM resources to supplement curriculum, and challenges and activities designed to stimulate student participation and problem-solving.

“The opportunity for students to learn from professionals in their fields of study is among the most important resources we can work with our business partners to provide,” said BCPS Superintendent Dr. Dallas Dance. “This recognition and support from MBRT will be invaluable in preparing our students for the kinds of 21st century workplace they will encounter.”

MBRT Executive Director June Streckfus announced the expansion of resources and services available to the designated schools as a way to support student post-secondary success. The group’s efforts to develop the Maryland STEM Innovation Network, or STEMnet, were applauded during the group’s meeting by Gov. Martin O’Malley and State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Lillian Lowery.

“Together (with MBRT) we are providing teachers a wide range of resources . . . that meet the needs of teachers and students,” said Dr. Lowery. “STEMnet gives schools significant value they can’t get elsewhere.”

While most counties had two high schools recognized as STEM Innovation Schools, Baltimore County was one of only three Maryland school systems to have three schools honored.

Companies and organizations participating in the program include Lockheed Martin, the University of Maryland Baltimore County, Stevenson University, the Community College of Baltimore County, T. Rowe Price, Northrop Grumman, and NASA Goddard.

Photo (left to right): BCPS Board of Education President Lawrence Schmidt, Owings Mills High School Principal Abbey Campbell, State Superintendent Lillian Lowery, Pikesville High School Principal Ed Mitzel, Chesapeake High School STEM Team Leader Corrine Roche



Story and photo by BCPS Communications Specialist Charles Herndon.
©2018 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.